Sugar Land Rotary honors FBISD 2012 Rookie Teachers

Pictured at the Sugar Land Rotary teacher recognition are (from left to right): Rotarian Craig DeSert, Nancy Porter, Rotarian and FBISD Chief Communications Officer; 2012 Rookies of the Year Mindy Merta, Joaquin Morales, Laura Nommensen, Dana Gilson, Brittany Howell, Stephanie Norman; Dr. Olwen Herron; and (back) Greg Pendley, Rotary Club President.

The Sugar Land Rotary honored Fort Bend ISD’s 2012 Rookie Teachers of the Year during a Teacher Appreciation Day recognition program held at a recent Rotary meeting. The Rotary has recognized exceptional first-year teachers through this recognition program for more than 16 years.

Sugar Land Rotarians welcomed the teachers and their campus administrators to the event, expressing their gratitude to these young adults as they begin their education careers. Dr. Olwen Herron, FBISD Chief Academic Officer, introduced each honoree. The rookie teachers then shared why they became a teacher and what they have enjoyed most about their first year of teaching.

Honored were: Mindy Merta, Jordan Elementary School; Dana Gilson, Lakeview Elementary School; Laura Nommensen, Settlers Way Elementary School; Brittany Howell, McAuliffe Middle School; Joaquin Morales, Elkins High School; and Stephanie Norman, Travis High School. They each received a gift card from the Rotary in appreciation of their outstanding efforts as first-year teachers.

Short URL:

Posted by on May 9 2012. Filed under Featured Slider, Fort Bend ISD, Sugar Land. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.