May 12 election results in surprises

May 29 Primary early voting good first day

By Elsa Maxey

Fort Bend County Elections Administrator John Oldham reports that for the first day of early voting this Monday for the partisan Primary Election, the turnout is good. Over 1,700 votes were cast, “total of 1,746 of which 1,483 were Republican and 263 Democrats,” he said. “Of the Dems, almost all were in Precinct 2,” reports Oldham. He also said that Fort Bend County’s busiest site was Pecan Grove. There were 370 Republicans voting there and15 Democrats. At press time on Tuesday, “voting seems much slower today,” said Oldham.

The results of Saturday’s May 12 election are not quite official yet since the votes have to be canvassed. That will be probably between Tuesday of this week and Wednesday, May 23, according to an election advisory to cities, school districts, and other political subdivisions from the director of elections in the Texas Secretary of State’s office.

Oldham said “we had more than our usual number of ballots by mail that were not returned for the May 12 election.” It is suspected that this was due to the confusion of the two elections this month being so close.


In the meantime, eligible voters in Fort Bend County may vote at any of the early voting sites up until May 25 for the May 29 Primary Election for Republican and Democratic candidates.

Voters need to show identification to vote that include the Voter Registration Certificate, a Texas Driver’s license, or other, although a photo ID is not be required. A list of the Early Voting sites and sample ballots are found on the Fort Bend County elections website –

Other races: Meadows Place

In Meadows Place, Alderman Shirley Isbell will be giving up her Place 2 seat to Terry Morgan, whose running bid stirred a bit of controversy since he is not a homeowner but rents and resides in the city, which affirms residency. Isbell’s husband, John F. Isbell, who ran unopposed, was elected to the Place 1 post. David A. Wilkens kept his Place 3 alderman seat since he ran unopposed.


The City of Arcola will have a new mayor. Incumbent Mayor Mary Etta Anderson lost her bid to Evelyn Jones, who also ran against Fidel Torres. Other mayor races were in Sugar Land, Fulshear, Kendleton and Meadows Place, where incumbents Mayor James Thompson, Mayor Tommy Kuykendall, Mayor Darryl K. Humphrey opposed by Belinda D. Battle, and Mayor Charles Jessup, who was challenged by William B. Myers and later withdrew his bid, were all reelected.


Both propositions representing charter amendments that were on the City of Stafford ballot passed by an overwhelming majority. One amendment will allow an official to take office immediately after taking the oath of office, and the second one allows city council members to appoint Charter Review Commission members.


This Saturday’s ballot affecting water district customers, mostly in Stafford and some in Missouri City, had four candidates vying for three seats on the Fort Bend Water Control and Improvement District No. 2. The three with the highest votes made the cut. Long-term incumbent John Ferro, who received the most votes, was reelected. Julius (Jody) Court and Former Stafford City Councilmember John Rose also each won a seat on the water board. Amanda Rodriguez, who had been appointed by the state to fill a vacated position and ran for the first time, did not garner enough votes to be elected nor did Lana Hoesing.

There were also numerous MUD directors races throughout this area. A report from the Elections Administration indicates that there could be a runoff in the MUD 146 race. “We have to wait until Friday on any overseas ballots,” said Oldham noting that they will need to have been postmarked on, or before May 12.


Reports of Katy ISD, which handled its own election this past Saturday along with the City of Katy, show that two Fort Bend County residents were elected to the school board. Bryan Michalsky, who has lived within the district boundaries for over six years, and Charles Griffin, a district resident for over 13 years, will serve as trustees for Position 6 and Position 7, respectively.

Missouri City

With the excitement of elections in the air this month beginning with this past Saturday’s city, school and MUD races, accounts relayed to the Star indicate that Missouri City, which did not have any city items on a ballot, did not want to be left out. Some city officials there along with community residents, we hear, hosted a no city election celebration. That’s the spirit!

Short URL:

Posted by on May 16 2012. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.