FBISD students awarded scholarships through Youth in Philanthropy Program

Pictured are area school superintendents, George Foundation representatives and the 2011-2012 YIP participants.

Thirty Fort Bend ISD students were awarded scholarships at the 15th annual Youth in Philanthropy (YIP) luncheon, sponsored by the George Foundation and the Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce.

Fort Bend County junior and senior students in the YIP program commit to one year of monthly sessions on philanthropy, including site visits and volunteer experiences at various area nonprofit organizations. At the end of the year, each YIP team evaluates the needs of the charities they were involved with and awards monetary grants to participating nonprofits.

Following are the FBISD students who were awarded scholarships and the organizations that funded them:
The George Foundation – $2,500 – Tyven Davis (Bush); Cameron Bell (Clements); C&M Favre – $1,250 – Abigail Abucejo (Austin); Mark Nwokocha (Bush – ) Classic Chevrolet – $1,250; Justin Tran (Clements) – Houston Baptist University – $1,250; Sid Venkataraman (Clements) – Digitec Office Solutions – $1,250; Cindy Lazo – (Elkins); Fred & Mabel Parks Foundation – $1,250; Jonathan Gomez (Hightower); Community Awards – $500 – Martin Kao (Austin); William Yang (Austin); Wendy Lopez (Bush); Marinna Melchor (Bush); Stephanie Mendoza (Bush); Dai Nguyen (Bush); Jack Krueger (Clements); Megan Scruggs (Clements); Edoardo Sifuentes (Clements); Chandler Morrow (Dulles); Mitra Nair (Dulles); Cydnee Hamilton (Elkins); Kevin Sabouni (Elkins); Brandon Bondzinski (Hightower); Oluwatosin Awofodu (Hightower); Priscilla Yuen (Hightower); Karesha Wilson (Marshall);  Loneshia Winder (Marshall); Fernine Estioco (Ridge Point); Robin Kelley (Ridge Point); Michael Brown (Travis); and Jordan Wilkins (Travis).

Short URL: http://www.fortbendstar.com/?p=20444

Posted by on Jun 6 2012. Filed under Featured Articles, Featured Slider, Fort Bend ISD, School News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by www.fortbendstar.com | All rights reserved.