Academy graduates Class 27

By LeaAnne Klentzman

Graduates and instructors for the 27th Class of the Gus George Law Enforcement Academy include, Greg Eby, Johnny Martinez, Robert Alvarado, Mark Penrod and Alexander Vago. Second row, Staff members Sgt. Carlos Castillo, Lt. Matt Carter and Sgt. Angie Womble; Cadets Daniel Lytton, Matthew Bish, Maggie Baca, Jolynn Garza, Jordan Reyes, Joseph Curet, Shuo-en Lee, Brandon Bolin and Christopher Dees; and Staff members Cindi Villemaire, Dottie Allen, Captain Mike Patton and Sgt. Mike Lorenz.. Third row, Shelby Macha, Justin Cloud, Zachary Cage, Darron Tennon, Eric Buenaventura, Bryan Smink, Charles Ezernack and Howard Kreusel..

The Gus George Law Enforcement Academy has graduated their 27th Basic Police Officer’s Academy Class.

Late last month, the academy staff said their goodbyes to their most recent basic police officer training class. The academy staff: Captain Mike Patton, Lt. Matt Carter, Sgt. Mike Lorenz, Sgt. Carlos Castillo and Sgt. Angie Womble, Dottie Allen and Cindi Villemaire encouraged, taught and supported the 22 cadets during their five month endeavor.

This academy class began on February 6, 2012 and concluded on June 29, 2012. During their training the new officers received more than 700 hours of training in mandated subjects such as the Penal Code, Arrest Search and Seizure, Code of Criminal Procedure, Police Driving, Firearms Training, Traffic Stops, and Criminal Investigations to just name a few. Their training culminated in scenario-based training using simunitions (pistols with live paint rounds) where the cadets are put in situations and they have to react and make decisions based on their knowledge and training from the academy.

In this 27th class all 22 graduating cadets passed the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education test on their first attempt. This is the third year in a row where 100 percent of the class members passed the State Licensing Exam on the first attempt.

Justin Cloud was the Academic Achievement Award winner and also the Physical Fitness Award winner of the class. Winner of the annual “David Braunholz Top Gun” Award was Howard Kreusel. This award is named in honor of late Sheriff’s Deputy David Braunholz, who died in the line of duty.

Class members include Robert Alvarado, Maggie Baca, Matthew Bish, Brandon Bolin, Eric Buenaventura, Zachary Cage, Justin Cloud, Joseph Curet, Christopher Dees, Greg Eby, Charles Ezernack, Jolynn Garza, Howard Kreusel, Shu-en Lee, Daniel Lytton, Shelby Macha, Johnny Martinez, Mark Penrod, Jordan Reyes, Bryan Smink, Darron Tennon and Alexander Vago.

Short URL:

Posted by on Jul 25 2012. Filed under City News, Featured Articles. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.