Gus George Law Enforcement Academy seeking applicants
The Gus George Law Enforcement Academy is seeking applicants for its next Basic Peace Officer Class. The academy is licensed by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer’s Standards and Education (TCLEOSE), and it prepares cadets to begin a career in law enforcement by teaching the TCLEOSE Basic Peace Officer Certification Course.
Cadets receive 780 hours of instruction over a 21-week period. Upon successful completion of training, cadets are eligible to take the Peace Officer Licensing Exam.
The next course is scheduled for Feb. 4, 2013 and graduation will be in June, 2013. Classes are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday with a few night-time training classes. The academy is accepting applications through December, 2012.
Minimum requirements include:
• U.S. Citizenship
• Holds a High School Diploma OR a GED with 12 hours of college credits or 24 months active duty military service with an Honorable Discharge
• Be at least 21 years of age by the time of T.C.L.E.O.S.E. exam
• Have NEVER been nor currently on court-ordered community supervision or probation for any criminal offense above the grade of a Class B misdemeanor
• Not currently under indictment for any criminal offense
• Have NEVER been convicted of an offense above a Class B misdemeanor or convicted of a Class B misdemeanor within the last 10 years
• Have NEVER been convicted of any Family Violence Offense
• Not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition
• May not have used marijuana, or any of its synthetic forms, within the past year
• May not have used any of the following specific illegal drugs or substances within the past two years unless taken with a prescription and/or administered by a licensed physician: Opiates, natural or synthetic; barbiturates or their derivatives; amphetamines or their derivatives; cocaine; or steroids/anabolic steroids/human growth hormones.
• May not have used any of the following specific illegal drugs or substances within the past five years unless taken with a prescription and/or administered by a licensed physician: any hallucinogens; PCP; LSD
• Has not had a court martial resulting in a dishonorable or bad conduct discharge, if applicable
• Possess a valid Texas Driver’s License
Testing is being conducted at the academy, located at 1521 Eugene Heiman Circle in Richmond (across from the Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office).
Testing is under way and begins at 9 a.m. on the following dates: Oct. 2, 4, 5, 10, 12, 16, 18, 24, 26, 29 and Oct. 31; Nov. 2, 5, 7, 9, 27 and 29; Dec. 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14.
Call 281-341-4780 to schedule a testing date. First come, first served.
Short URL: http://www.fortbendstar.com/?p=24062