University of Houston Alumni Assoc. announces Slate of 2013 Award Honorees

The University of Houston Alumni Association is proud to announce Hon. Jacqueline Baly as a 2013 Alumni Award recipient. Ms. Baly will be the recipient of UH’s “Rising Star” award.

Her achievements include serving as Mayor Pro Tem and Councilmember for the City of Sugar Land as well as President & CEO of BalyProjects, LLC. She is a former Commissioner of the Brazos River Authority, a statewide appointment she received from Governor Perry, where she represented Harris, Fort Bend and surrounding counties on water and wastewater issues.

She has been featured on KUHF, KTRH, KTRK and several radio stations discussing policy matters. She also lectures on public policy and urban politics at the University of Houston.

This year’s honorees include names that are prominent both nationally and locally as well as on the UH campus. The 2013 honorees will be recognized at the 59th Annual Awards Gala, to be held April 27, 2013 at the Westin Houston, Memorial City.

Distinguished Alumni Awards are given to individuals whose professional accomplishments bring credit to the University. The Distinguished Service Award is given to UHAA Life Members who are set apart by their history of service to the association and university. The Chair’s Award recognizes generous contributions of time, talent, and resources to UH by non-alumni.

The Outstanding Volunteer Award recognizes alumni who exemplify a spirit of volunteerism to advance UHAA’s mission. The Rising Star Award, given for the first time in 2010, recognizes the accomplishments of alumni under the age of 45.

Other Award recipients include: Distinguished Alumni Award

• Dr. Roger Birkman (’47, MS ‘47), Chairman of Birkman International, Inc.

An American organizational psychologist, Birkman is the creator of The Birkman Method, a workplace psychological assessment.

• Bill Worrell (’69), Play-By-Play Announcer for Houston Rockets

Worrell is in his 30th season as the play-by-play announcer for the Houston Rockets and in 2011 was honored with a Lone Star Emmy for best play-by-play announcer.

• Loretta Devine (’71), Actress Devine is a stage, film, and television actress. She won a Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actress – Drama Series for her role in the television show, Grey’s Anatomy.

• Chair’s Award – Meredith Dreiss, President of Archeo Productions, Inc.

Dreiss is the former President of the Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation. She was instrumental in the development of the Cynthia Woods Mitchell Center for the Arts at the University of Houston in 2003.

Short URL:

Posted by on Dec 26 2012. Filed under Colleges, Featured Slider. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.