Fourteen FBISD Presidential Scholar Candidates named

Fourteen Fort Bend ISD students have been selected by the U. S. Department of Education as candidates for the Presidential Scholars Program.

The candidates for the Scholars Program are: Austin High School – Travis Yeh; Clements High School – Raymond Cano, Erin Dierker, Steven Flolid, Wenyang Fu, Gabriel Pham, Lilly Shen, Benjamin Tu, Haotian Wu and Sang Xie; Dulles High School – Nick Liu and Robert Shen; and Kempner High School – Robert Cyprus and Haley Escamilla.

Each year, up to 141 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the Nation’s highest honors for high school students. In honoring the Presidential Scholars, the President of the United States symbolically honors all graduating high school seniors of high potential. Approximately 3,000 candidates for the Presidential Scholars program are selected each year for the academic component of the program, based on having scored exceptionally well on the College Board SAT or the ACT assessment.

To confirm their interest and assist in the selection process, candidates must submit required application materials. The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by Executive Order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts.

Short URL:

Posted by on Feb 27 2013. Filed under Fort Bend ISD. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.