Sugar Land elections unopposed

Sugar Land’s May 11 city election will likely be canceled as the candidates who have filed to run for the four open council seats are unopposed.

Canceling the election will save taxpayers $37, 582, according to city spokesman, Doug Adolph.

Stephen Porter is running for the District 1 seat currently held by Mayor Pro Tem Don Smithers. Smithers, who was first elected to the City Council in 2009, is not seeking re-election.

Porter, a retired Exxon-Mobile executive, has lived in District 1 for 32 years.

Bridget Yeung, Amy Mitchell and Harish Jajoo are seeking re-election in District 2, 3 and 4 respectively. Yeung, Mitchell and Jajoo were first elected to the council in 2011.

On February 19, the City Council approved the city election to be held on May 11 for the purpose of electing council members to Districts 1-4. The filing deadline passed on March 1 and all of the candidates were running unopposed.

The Texas Election Code gives local governments the right to cancel elections when candidates are running unopposed.

Short URL:

Posted by on Mar 6 2013. Filed under Sugar Land. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.