Twenty-one FBISD Students honored at annual Investment in Youth Luncheon

The George Foundation scholarship recipient, Nicholas Alexander (center), is pictured with (from left) Mike McKie, FBISD Interim Superintendent and Dee Koch, The George Foundation Grant Officer.

Twenty-one Fort Bend ISD high school juniors and seniors were awarded scholarships at the 16th annual Investment in Youth Luncheon, presented by The George Foundation, The Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce and Safari Texas Ranch.

The students were among 58 FBISD students representing all 11 high schools, and those from 19 Fort Bend County campuses to commit to six monthly sessions on philanthropy, including site visits and volunteer experiences at various area nonprofit organizations. The luncheon marks the conclusion of the Youth In Philantrophy (YIP) program and provides a venue for YIP students to highlight their volunteer experiences to their peers, business representatives and the community at large.

With the support of foundations and the community, $23,500 in scholarships was awarded to FBISD students in honor of their volunteer spirit. Receiving The George Foundation’s top $5,000 scholarship this year was Elkins High School senior, Nicholas Alexander, who was commended for his dedication to volunteering with youth mission groups.

Shown are the 2012-2013 Fort Bend County Youth In Philanthropy Program participants, their District superintendents, and representatives of The George Foundation and Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce.

FBISD students receiving $1,250 YIP scholarships were:

• Faithful Alabi, senior, Bush High School (C&M Favre)

•  Tobi Babayemi, junior, Hightower High School (The George Foundation)

• Towo Babayemi, junior, Hightower High School (The George Foundation)

• Rashidat Edunjobi, senior, Hightower High School (Fred & Mabel Parks Foundation)

• LeeAnn Ellankil, senior, Kempner High School (Houston Baptist University)

• Fernine Estioco, senior, Ridge Point High School (Smart Financial #2)

• Tierra Franklin, junior, Marshall High School (CenterPoint Energy)

• Christopher Herzog, senior, Clements High School (Classis Chevrolet)

• Kimberly Pham, senior, Dulles High School (Smart Financial #1)

• Stephany Tsai, senior, Austin High School (Safari Texas Ranch)

FBISD students receiving $600 Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce scholarships were:

• Angelo Arambulo, junior, Hightower High School

• Brianna Cobos, senior, Elkins High School

• Ann Johnson, senior, Elkins High School

• Emily Johnson, junior, Hightower High School

• Christine Nguyen, senior, Austin High School

• David Nguyen, junior, Bush High School

• Leticia Pantigoso, senior, Bush High School

• Natasha Pirani, junior, Marshall High School

• Justin Tran, senior, Clements High School

• William Yang, senior, Austin High School

Short URL:

Posted by on May 1 2013. Filed under Fort Bend ISD. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.