Fort Bend’s May 11 election has winners, and a runoff

Most propositions win

By Elsa Maxey 

In spite of the light voter turnout, “dismally low,” said one resident, the outcome of Saturday’s General and Special Election of May 11th has a host of winners, a runoff in Missouri City, and just about all the propositions on the ballots passed.

Fort Bend ISD Trustee Position 3 has Jim Rice keeping his board seat garnering a little over 70% of the votes in that race. FBISD Trustee Position 7 incumbent Dave Rosenthal of Missouri City also kept his seat with 56.5% of the votes in a race among four candidates. Community feedback about the FBISD school district is positive these days “with the hiring of a new superintendent” and with the outcome of the elections, “there is a chance that this is the beginning for real change in this school district.”

Five candidates running for three positions on the Stafford Municipal School District board of trustees turned out three winners, reelected incumbents Greg Holsapple and Ed Castillo along with newly elected trustee Arturo Jackson for three year terms.  Lamar Consolidated School District winners are newly elected trustees Kathryn E. Kaminiski and Kay Danziger, relected incumbent Frank W. Torres, and newly elected Anna M. Gonzales, Trustees for District 1, 2, 3 and 6, respectively.

Meadows Place’s election win has Kelle K. Mills with almost 59% of the votes ousting incumbent John C. Whiteman in the race for Alderman, Place 5.  Alderman Place No. 4, Terry J. Henley, ran unopposed and kept the seat.

In Missouri City, there will be a runoff between Yolanda Ford and incumbent Bobby Marshall for the District A Council position.  Councilmember Don Smith, the incumbent won his seat for District B. Councilmembers Robin Elackatt and Floyd Emery ran unopposed and will continue to represent Districts C and D, respectively.  All 15 city charter propositions passed.

The City of Arcola will soon seat Greg Abarr, Thomas Hilton, and Rosie T. Rojas on the city council.  All three won their member at large races among a total of eight candidates.  Arcola also passed a proposition for the use of sales tax proceeds for infrastructure relating to water supply facilities.

In the county seat of Richmond, the two propositions on the ballot passed relating to the home rule city charter. The City of Rosenberg’s ballot had 11 propositions with two of them failing.  One of them was for the deletion of a city charter section that would abolish the Department of Health and Sanitation. Mayor Vincent Morales, Jr. ran unopposed and will continue to serve in that role.  Council At Large Position 1 incumbent William Benton won his seat; incumbent Cynthia McConathy won the At Large Position 2; Jimmie Pena ousted Juan Salazar for Council District 1; District 2 will have a new councilmember, Susan Kroll Euton, who will replace Joe G. Segura; and a runoff will take place for the District 4 seat between George Arroyos and Amanda J. Bolf. Dwayne Grigar ran unopposed and will keep his District 3 council seat.

Two Emergency Services Districts (ESD), 4 and 6, each placed a proposition on the ballot and one of them failed.  ESD 6 was not authorized for creation along with a levy for taxing purposes.  Fort Bend County Municipal Utility District 2’s proposition passed for an operation and maintenance tax.

Propositions were also on voting ballots impacting Kendleton, Needville, the Village of Fairchilds, the Village of Pleak, Beasley, East Bernard, Orchard, Thompsons, and other areas.

For a review of the Fort Bend Elections Administration Cumulative Report of the May 11th election, visit

Short URL:

Posted by on May 16 2013. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.