Schiff Elementary hosts TEPSA Student Council Workshop 

Carolyn Solomon, TEPSA Director of Student Leadership (left), presents the Schiff Student Council with the 2013 Honor Student Council Excellence Award. Representing Schiff are (from left): Tiffany Agina, Student Council Sponsor; Myles Keys, Alexandrea Starnes, Abigail Wirthlin, Benjamin Cochrum and Mary Brewster, Principal at Schiff Elementary School.

Schiff Elementary School hosted the annual Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association’s (TEPSA) Leaders ‘R’ Us Student Council Workshop this year that welcomed more than 60 students and advisors representing elementary student councils from across the region.

“The workshop provides elementary Student Council students with a great opportunity to learn how to grow into great leaders and understand the difference between positive and negative role models,” said Carolyn Solomon, TEPSA Director for Student Leadership.

Solomon led the students in various leadership activities that focused on three main areas: What it Means to Be a Leader, The Election, and Roles and Responsibilities of the Officers and Representatives. The students also reviewed the Student Council Goals and the StuCo Code.

One of the highlights of the workshop was the presentation of the 2013 Honor Student Council Excellence Award to Schiff Elementary School. The award recognizes the outstanding efforts and hard work of Schiff’s Student Council over the past two years. Accepting on behalf of the school were Student Council members Benjamin Cochrum, Myles Keys, Alexandrea Starnes, and Abigail Wirthlin; Tiffany Agina, Student Council Sponsor; and Mary Brewster, Principal.

“We were honored to host the regional workshop this year and even happier to accept the excellence award recognizing the efforts of our Student Council students and sponsor,” said Brewster.

Short URL:

Posted by on Nov 20 2013. Filed under Featured Articles, Fort Bend ISD. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.