Early voting schedule set for March primary election

By Elsa Maxey 

The early voting schedule and locations for the March 4 Primary Election in Fort Bend County are in place. County commissioners court approved the early voting dates of February 18 – 28th last week at various locations for local voters in Fort Bend County. Candidate filings for those seeking office from throughout the state including Fort Bend may be found on the Nandita Berry, Texas Secretary of State website linked to this story online on fortbendstar.com

For the Primary Election, voters will vote in one of the two political party elections. The chosen candidate will represent the party in the November 4th General Election.

Offices on the Primary Election candidate filing list for both Democrats and Republicans include U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative, Governor and Lt. Governor, Attorney General and other state posts as well as Railroad Commissioner sought by Steve Brown, Democrat from Missouri City, who is listed among six candidates, half of them from each party residing in different parts of Texas. Democrat Michael “Fjet” Fjetland of Sugar Land is among the candidates for U.S. Senator, and for U.S. Representative, Dist. 22 is incumbent Republican Pete Olson and Democrats Frank Briscoe of Richmond and Mark Gibson of Missouri City. Another local area candidate, Democrat and incumbent U.S. Representative, Dist. 9’s Al Green residing in Houston also filed and shows no opponent for the upcoming Primary Election.

Also on the judgeship candidates for the Court of Criminal Appeals, Texas’ highest court for criminal cases, is David Newell, a Republican from Richmond seeking Place 9. The Court of Criminal Appeals sits in Austin and from time to time may hold court in other cities to hear cases. These judges are elected by voters from the entire state and hold the office for a six year term.

State representative candidates for Districts 26, 27, and 28 include incumbents seeking reelection – Ron Reynolds, Rick Miller and John Zerwas, respectively. David Hamilton, a Republican from Missouri City is going after a win that will pit him against Reynolds, who is a Democrat for the Dist. 27 office in November. Also, Amber C. Paaso, a Democrat, is running for State Rep Dist. 26 in the primary, the position held by Miller, a Republican, which will also be determined in November. Zerwas, who is a Republican, is listed on the candidate filing without a Republican opponent.

For Judge of the 268th District, two Republicans, incumbent Judge Brady G. Elliott and Roxie Roll of Stafford are seeking a win in March to make a final run for office in the fall. Fort Bend County District Attorney John Healey, the incumbent who is a Republican, is listed among three candidates for the Primary Election. Dawn Zell Wright, a Republican from Richmond, is challenging Healey. Wilvin J. Carter, Democrat from Missouri City is going after a place on the ballot in November and will run against the Republican winner of the primary.

Republican incumbent, County Judge Robert E. “Bob” Hebert, who had previously announced his intention to run for reelection, formally filed for the Primary Election as did James F. Pirtle, a Democrat from Missouri City seeking a win in the primary and a run against Judge Hebert in the fall.

District Clerk filings show three Republican candidates, Laura Richard of Sugar Land, Candace Cagle of Richmond and the incumbent, Annie Rebecca Elliot of Richmond all vying for the post. Democrats Michael D. Antalan of Katy and Lila Villagomez of Rosenberg are also running against each other for that post for the ballot slot of the November election.

Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, Place 2 shows Republicans Billy Guerrero, III of Rosenberg and incumbent Mary S. Ward of Richmond along with Democrat Karen J. Mendoza of Rosenberg seeking a place on the November ballot. In the primary, Democrat and incumbent JP for Princinct 2 Joel C. Clouser, Sr. of Missouri City is running against Tanisha Green, a Democrat residing in Houston. JP Precincts 3 and 4 list Republicans Ken Cannata of Richmond and Jim Richard of Sugar Land, respectively without opponents for those local offices.

For the early voting schedule for the Primary Election, see this story on fortbendstar.com or the Fort Bend County website.

Short URL: http://www.fortbendstar.com/?p=37584

Posted by on Jan 22 2014. Filed under Elections. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by www.fortbendstar.com | All rights reserved.