Fort Bend cities focus on May 10 General Election

By Elsa Maxey 

With the end of candidate filing for the May 10 General Election last Friday, there are several contested races in some Fort Bend cities for elected office since the current office holders’ terms expire this May. Most of them have opted for re-election amid competition. But cities, like Sugar Land, Stafford and Meadows Place, will not be having an election since there is no opposition against those who filed for city elected office there.

Missouri City

Missouri City shows contested races for its three city offices up for election, the mayor’s and two at-large city council seats currently held by Mayor Allen Owen, Mayor Pro Tem Jerry Wyatt and Council Member Danny Nguyen, respectively.  Noel Pinnock, Sr. filed for mayor and will run against the 20-year, consecutive incumbent Mayor Owen going for reelection for another two-year term. Pinnock previously ran unsuccessfully against Wyatt in 2008.  Mayor Owen also experienced opposition in 2006 and 2008, when Greyling B. Poats ran unsuccessfully against him.

Cynthia L. Gary, formerly an FBISD school board member and Missouri City council member for two terms, also made a bid for the mayor’s office against Owen in 2010 sans a win.  She’s timely filed for the council at large position #1 against Wyatt, who has held that office since 1998, but first served on city council in 1981 to 1994. Local political newcomer Chris Preston is running against Nguyen for the council member at large position #2 that Nguyen has held for two terms since 2010. On the city’s May ballot, voters will also be considering the passage of four bond propositions, which amount to $40 million.


City Secretary Diana Gordon Offord said the City of Fulshear will elect a mayor and also three aldermen this May. Mayor Tommy Kuykendall, who has been in office since 2010, filed for reelection and has no opponent. The three alderman incumbents – Jeff Roberts, Laverne Patterson, Larry Beustring – filed for reelection and will face six others – Steve Pohlman, Kent Pool, Tricia Krenek, Roberto Oce, Patrick Sexton, Tajana Mesic.  The top vote getters will become alderman by plurality vote.


The mayor’s and two commissioners offices will also be on the ballot for the City of Richmond this May 10th.  Evalyn Wendt Moore filled her husband’s unexpired term after he died in December 2012.  Mayor Hilmer Moore served for 63 years and held the distinction of being America’s longest serving mayor in office. The incumbent Mayor Moore will run for the first time and it will be against Gary Gillen, who is currently a commissioner and has served since 2010.  Win or lose, he will have given up his commissioner’s seat at the end of his term this May. Incumbent Commissioner William H. “Bill” Dostal, in office since 2002, filed for reelection. City Secretary Laura Scarlato said Dostal is among seven running for two commissioner offices.  Others filing are former Richmond City Manager Glen Gilmore; Carlos Garcia, who ran two years ago; Tres Davis, Jennaro (Jerry) A. D’onofrio, Jesse Torres and former Fort Bend County Sheriff Milton Wright.  Those with the top votes will be the winners.


Arcola Mayor Evelyn Jones is running for reelection against former Mayor Mary Etta Anderson, whom she beat two years ago.  Two council positions will be on the May ballot. The incumbents, Effie Jones and Florencia Martinez, who filled an unexpired term, filed for reelection along with Florence Jackson and James Deveaux seeking a council seat to be determined by the top votes.


All of the incumbent city elected officials from Kendleton are running for office, said City Secretary Veronica Harris.  Only Mayor Darryl K. Humphey, Sr., in office since 2008, has drawn an opponent, Alice Faye Anderson. Lester Aldridge, George Jackson, Etta Marie Patterson, Carolyn Kindred-Jenkins, and Ray Davis are current councilmembers seeking reelection.


In Rosenberg, city spokesperson Angela E. Fritz said the city does not have any city offices up for election in May.  But, she said city council ordered a Special Election for May 10th.  It was in response to a citizens’ petition opposing the city’s donation of property for a mobility project. Voters would be deciding on whether to prohibit the city from donating the land to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) for the project.  But an agreement with TxDOT and the county has apparently settled the matter.  Fritz, however, advises that the Special Election at this time is still on.

Sugar Land

In Sugar Land, city spokesperson Doug Adolph said the city intends to cancel its May election.  The formality is set for March 18 as no contested office filings were made by the filing deadline date.  The city would have spent close to $34,000, which it will now save by not holding the election. Mayor James Thompson, who has been the top city office holder since 2008, and two at-large city council members elected to city council in 2012, Himesh Gandhi and Joe Zimmerman, filed for at large positions #1 and #2, respectively, and were unopposed.  All will serve another term from May 2014 to May 2016 after their oath of office is administered on May 20 during a city council meeting.

The last day to register to vote for May 10th General Election is April 10th.  Early voting will follow and run from April 28th through May 6th.

Short URL:

Posted by on Mar 5 2014. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.