Early voting underway for May 27th Primary Runoff

By Elsa Maxey 

With 13 sites in Fort Bend County open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., early voting is now underway for the May 27 Texas Primary Runoff election following Memorial Day, which will also run during the same hours.  Early voting started this Monday and will end on May 23.

Fort Bend registered voters recently cast their ballots in a non-partisan election earlier this month, and again, they will have the opportunity to do it de novo, but this time in either the Republican or Democratic camp, as was the case on March 4.  That’s when the partisan Texas Primary Election was held leaving offices in need of the runoff in both political parties.

For the Republican Party Primary Runoff, voters across the state will decide on candidates for four offices – Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Commissioner of Agriculture, and Railroad Commissioner.  The Democratic Party Primary Runoff will require choices to be made for only two offices – for U.S. Senator and Commissioner of Agriculture. The final outcome of these races will be decided in the November General Election.

At the top of the list is the highly contested office for Lieutenant Governor runoff between two Houston Republicans, David Dewhurst and Dan Patrick.

The office of Commissioner of Agriculture has runoffs in both parties. On the Democratic side, Jim Hogan of Cleburne, and Kerrville singer and songwriter Richard “Kinky” Friedman is one of them, and he’s been to Fort Bend several times, most recently he participated on a panel of judges at an annual chili contest at Don Kerstetter’s Classic Chevrolet dealership. Republican runoff candidates in this race are Tommy Merritt of Longview and Sid Miller of Stephenville.

For Texas Railroad Commissioner on the Republican runoff is a candidate from the greater Houston area vying for the spot on the November General Election ballot.  Either Wayne Christian from Center or Ryan Sitton from Friendswood, will go against a local candidate – former Fort Bend County Democratic Party chairman Steve Brown, who won his place on the ballot in the Texas Primary this March.

The race for U.S. Senator on the Democratic runoff has Dallas investor David M. Alameel and Houston area Political Action Committee volunteer Kesha Rogers. One of them will go up against Republican incumbent John Cornyn in the General Election in November.

For information on early voting sites, visit fortbendcounty.gov

Short URL: http://www.fortbendstar.com/?p=40520

Posted by on May 21 2014. Filed under Breaking News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by www.fortbendstar.com | All rights reserved.