LCTA names top paraprofessionals and teachers for 2014


Shown are (l-r): Kevin Cranston, Rachel Merkt, Phoenicia Wilson and Shyla Hansche.

Shown are (l-r): Kevin Cranston, Rachel Merkt, Phoenicia Wilson and Shyla Hansche.

Four of Lamar’s stars were recognized by the Lamar Classroom Teachers Association as Paraprofessionals or Teachers of the Year.

Frost Elementary secretary Shyla Hansche is the Elementary Paraprofessional of the year. Phoenicia Wilson, teacher’s aide and nurse at Ryon Middle School is the Secondary Paraprofessional of the Year.

Williams Elementary reading facilitator Rachel Merkt is the Elementary Teacher of the Year and Reading Junior High band director Kevin Cranston is the Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Other nominees for Elementary Paraprofessional of the Year were:

Cindy Mgallon, Adolphus; Cathy Willis, Austin; Michelle Haas, Beasley; Veronica Gutierrez, Bowie; Roxane Giurgea, Campbell; Deborah Alford, Dickinson; Leslie, Hubenak; Rose Breaux, Huggins; Karen Jones, Hutchison; Maria Gonzales, Jackson; Bridget Wilson, Long; Wanda Lewis, McNeill; Susan Evans, Meyer; Yazmin Olivares, Pink; Kim Warnasch, Ray; Lizette Esparza-Ruiz, Seguin; Sandra Izaguirre, Smith; Karen Gable, Thomas; Erika Hernandez, Travis; Melba Garcia, Velasquez; and Rochelle McKenney, Williams.

Other nominees for Secondary Paraprofessional of the Year were:

Eva De La Garza, ALC; Rebecca Widaski, Briscoe JH; Jelena Winnicki, Foster HS; Veronica Chavarria, George JH; Veronica Moreno, George Ranch HS; Carolyn Gilson, Lamar CHS; Amanda Gonzalez, Lamar JH; Almeda Harris, Navarro MS;  Stephaney Davis, Reading JH; Tina Brock, Wertheimer MS; and Amanda Gonzales, Wessendorff MS.

Nominees for Elementary Teacher of the Year were:

Lana Kettler, Adolphus; Debbie Hastedt, Austin; Rebekah Garvel, Beasley; Rosemary Martinez, Bowie; Gay Stuart, Campbell; Laura Hardin, Dickinson; Crystel Ware, Frost; Sheri Lopez, Hubenak; Ida Jurkowski, Huggins; Chrissy Konyha, Hutchison; Kim Etheridge, Jackson; Kim Lybarger, Long; Meka Matthews, McNeill; Shawn Warncke, Meyer; John Martin, Pink; Lynnette Brown, Ray; Kathy Wiggins, Seguin Early Childhood Center; Jennifer Rorick, Smith; Kelly Hubenak, Thomas; Becky Geary, Travis; and Jennifer Wagner, Velasquez.

Nominees for Secondary Teacher of the Year were:

Shalayla Simmons, ALC; Terrence Walters, Briscoe JH; Matt Techmanski, Foster HS; Jane Devine, George JH; Kyra Thomas, George Ranch HS; Elizabeth Myer, Lamar JH; Tommy Oliver, Lamar CHS; Rebecca Yates, Navarro; Kimberly Wittig, Ryon; Satta Testamark, Wertheimer; and Brenda Burrow, Wessendorff.

Short URL:

Posted by on May 28 2014. Filed under Lamar CISD, Lamar CISD. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2015 by | All rights reserved.