63 FBISD students named 2018 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Fort Bend ISD announced that 63 seniors are semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program, sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). The FBISD students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists named in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program, based on their junior year performance on the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which is an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of United States high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

FBISD’s 2018 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists include:

Kadriye Almus (Dulles), Sara Armendariz (Dulles), Nishant Aranke (Clements), Ryan Bethke (Austin), Nikitha Bhavani (Dulles), Angela Chang (Clements), Anthony Chang (Clements), Muskaan Chaturvedi (Clements), Eric Chen (Clements), Matthew Chen (Clements), Elsbeth Chow (Dulles), Isha Dhawan (Clements), Palak Diwanji (Dulles), Ruchika Dongre (Clements), Swetha Gangu (Clements), Nikhil Gattu (Dulles), Mahija Ginjupalli (Clements), Indhusri Gunda (Clements), Alicia Guo (Clements), Stephanie Guo (Clements), Brenner Hohl (Clements), Alice Hu (Dulles), Jason Huang (Clements), Christina Ji, (Austin), Amsal Kassam (Dulles), Victor Li (Austin), Drake Liang (Clements), Candice Ma (Dulles), Jaanita Mehrani (Dulles), Kenneth Mitra (Dulles), Zamann Momin (Travis), Swara Mukkamala (Dulles), Brittany Nguyen (Dulles), Star Ni (Dulles), Lakshmi Paluri (Austin), Amy Patel (Austin), Keshav Ram (Clements), Elizabeth Roberts (Clements), Abigail Sackett (Dulles), Suravi Sarkar (Hightower), Sahil Shah (Elkins), Ashish Singh (Elkins), Daniel Tan (Austin), Shreya Thipireddy (Dulles), Andy Sang Trinh (Austin), Tejas Tuppera (Dulles), Brandon Wang (Clements), Faye Wang (Clements), Nicole Wang (Clements), Warren Wang (Clements), Andrew Xu (Clements), Rena Yan (Clements), Sally Yan (Clements), Renee Yu (Hightower), Henry Zhang (Elkins), Jeffrey Zhang (Dulles), Jenny Zhang (Clements), Michael Zhang (Clements), Stephen Zheng (Clements), Erika Zhou (Clements), Joy Zhu (Clements), Michelle Zhu (Clements) and Alisha Zute (Elkins).

From the approximately 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 (or 90 percent) are expected to advance to the finalist level where they will compete for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. Finalists will learn of their designation in February.

Learn more about the National Merit Scholarship Program at www.nationalmerit.org.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2016 by Fortbendstar.com | All rights reserved.