Category archives for: Featured Slider

David Lavine receives plaque for service from Rotary


David Lavine receives a plaque from in-coming president Roy Wiffin and the SW59 Sunrise Rotary Club thanking him for his service as president for 2013 – 2014

Sugar Land Christian Women’s Connection welcome Chuck Cummings, CPA


The Sugar Land Christian Women’s Connection will meet on Friday, July 11, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.  at the Sweetwater Country Club located at 4800 Palm Royale Blvd., Sugar Land. Chuck Cummings, a successful practicing Certified Public Accountant, will be the featured speaker at the luncheon. Chuck is also a Christian, who has a […]

Math Gains earn Mission Glen ES Student Academy Award

Photo submitted by Mission Glen Elementary School
Pictured with award honoree Eric Martinez are: (from left to right) Assistant Principal Melissa Mehall, Special Education Teacher Chastity Gonzalez and Principal Kari Bruhn.

Mission Glen Elementary School (MGE) third-grader, Eric Martinez, received a 2014 Academy Star Student award as a “runner up” in the awards program sponsored by EPS Literacy and Intervention’s Academy of Math. The award honors students who have overcome significant challenges to build proficiency in math, as well as teachers who go above and beyond […]

Delta Kappa Gamma Society awards 2014 Grant in Aid

Shown l-r are: Angela Robinson-Anderson, mother of recipient; Ashley Anderson, DKG grant recipient; and Carla Meuth, DKG Grant Chairman.

The Lambda Sigma Chapter of The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International is proud to announce their 2014 Grant in Aid recipient, Ashley Anderson. The grant is awarded to an East Fort Bend County female student pursing a degree in Education. Ashley is a graduate of Travis High School, and will attend Blinn College this fall; she plans […]

FBISD names Kristi Corbitt as Director of Elementary Curriculum

Kristi Corbitt has been named Fort Bend ISD’s Director of Elementary Curriculum. She began her career in education 10 years ago as a teacher at Seven Hills Elementary in Northwest ISD. In 2009, she was named assistant principal at Walker Station Elementary School and also served in that position at Burton Elementary School prior to […]

Fort Bend County employees receive Service Awards  

15 Year – Pictured with Judge Hebert from left to right are:  Ralph Landry (Sheriff’s Office), David Mejorado (Sheriff’s Office), Vicki Hawkins (CSCD), Jonas Combie (CSCD), Irene Arreguin (Co. Tax Assessor/Collector’s Office), and Judge Harold Kennedy (Associate County Court at Law) Not pictured, but still receiving a 15 year award is:   Kenny Mikel (Drainage District)

Honoring their length of service Service Awards were presented to Fort Bend County employees at Commissioners Court on Tuesday, June 24.  Employees received a plaque and service pin in honor of their years of service.  Congratulations to all award recipients! 20  Year – Not pictured, but still receiving a 20 year award is:  Dee Ware […]

Rodney Griffin reelected State Democratic Executive Committeeman

Rodney Griffin

Rodney Griffin of Missouri City was reelected, State Democratic Executive Committeeman at the Texas Democratic Convention, Saturday June 28.  The two year  term is Griffin’s seventh term at the helm of senatorial district 13.Senatorial District 13 comprises of over an 800,000 African American majority in Fort Bend and Harris Counties. Griffin said, “since my return in […]

Congressman Olson troubled by IRS and wants feedback


By Elsa Maxey  One of the people in Washington, D.C. representing a collective voice from home, U.S. Representative Pete Olson from Texas District 22 says, “I don’t buy it.” He is referring to claims that emails connected to a former IRS official at the center of a Tea Party targeting scandal are forever lost because […]

Sheriff’s Deputy Lieutenant James Fontenot honored


Long time sheriff’s deputy honored for his commitment to the citizens of Fort Bend County as a polygraph examiner. Lieutenant James Fontenot was recipient of 2014 Tim Kennedy Examiner of the Year Award; an award given to the top polygraph examiners in the state by the Texas Association of Law Enforcement Polygraph Investigators. Lieutenant Fontenot […]

The Ladybugs spread lots of cheer to the elderly in Stafford

Left to right are: Sarah Johnson, Velvete Rojubokan, Milly Jones, Sharon Harry, and Vicki Latham, were on hand to make sure that the patrons enjoyed a Happy Father's Day celebration at the Stafford Community Center in Stafford.

The Ladybugs of Fort Bend County fluttered in to the Stafford Community Center to spread lots of cheer for Father’s Day with the patrons there.  During the lunch hour for the elderly who come there daily for fun and entertainment, as well as a nicely prepared hot meal, the Ladybugs were able to provide many […]

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2011 by | All rights reserved.