Missouri City to hold general election in November

By Edwin Vega
For the Fort Bend Star

The City of Missouri City moved its council elections from the spring to the fall and on Nov. 7 residents will vote to fill four seats.

The ballot will include council positions for Districts A, B, C and D and the term of office for those positions is two years. Up for election are District A Councilmember Yolanda Ford, District B Councilmember Don Smith, District C Councilmember Anthony Maroulis and District D Councilmember Floyd Emery. So far only Maroulis has said he will seek re-election. Attempts to contact the others for comment were unsuccessful.

Applications for a place on the ballot may be filed with the city secretary starting on Monday, July 24, at 8 a.m. to Monday, Aug. 21, at 5 p.m.

City council members are responsible for policy functions under provisions of the Home Rule Charter of the City of Missouri City. They are elected at-large every two years in even-numbered years, while four district council members are elected every two years in odd-numbered years.

Ford has been serving District A since 2013. As a member of city council, she is involved in the Livable Community Committee, the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Committee and the Community Development Advisory Committee.

Smith represents District B. He has been serving his district since 2001 and during his tenure he has demonstrated a passion for an overall non-smoking environment throughout the city, the development and construction of parks and green space, the revitalization of the Texas Parkway/Cartwright Road Corridor and the overall safety of the citizens of Missouri City.

Maroulis has been serving District C since 2015. As a member of city council, he is involved in the Livable Community Committee, Economic Development Committee and the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Committee.

Emery has been serving District D since 2011 and also serves as Mayor Pro Tem. His current city council committee memberships include the Finances and Services Committee, the Economic Development Committee and the High Performance Organization Committee.

For more information regarding the city’s municipal general election, contact City Secretary Maria Jackson at 281-403-8500. For voting information, visit: http://www.fortbendcountytx.gov.

Comments are closed

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2016 by Fortbendstar.com | All rights reserved.