Reynolds wins runoff, will face Republican Ken Bryant in November

By Joe Southern





State Rep. Ron Reynolds narrowly held off challenger Angelique Bartholomew by 226 votes in the Democratic primary runoff election Tuesday night for the House 27 seat he has held for three terms.

Reynolds had 2,056 (52.9 percent) to Bartholomew’s 1,830 (47.1 percent). He will now face Republican Ken Bryant in the Nov. 8 General Election.

“I want to congratulate Angelique on a hard-fought campaign,” Reynolds said in a press release. “Angelique’s care for issues impacting our families is evident, and I look forward to working with her to implement solutions important to all of us.

“I am thankful and blessed immeasurably by God and am so very humbled and appreciative of his faithfulness. Surely, without His strength and love, I would not be standing. Over these tough months, I stood on my faith that teaches me that no weapon formed against me will prosper. God never fails,” he said.

Also on the Democratic ticket was the statewide runoff for Railroad Commissioner. In Fort Bend County, voters picked Grady Yarbrough (3,273 votes, 70.18 percent) over Cody Garrett, (1,391 votes, 29.82 percent). He took 55 percent of the vote statewide.

On the Republican side, Mike Beard defeated Chris Bronsell in the race for Pct. 1 Constable 1,993 votes (56.8 percent) to 1,517 (43.2 percent). The race for Pct. 3 Constable was won by Wayne Thompson, who very narrowly defeated Rob W. Cook 1,293 (50.93 percent) to 1,246 (49.07 percent).

In the race for Railroad Commissioner, Fort Bend County Republicans went decidedly for Gary Gates (5,400 votes, 65.82 percent) over Wayne Christian (2,804 votes 34.18 percent) although Christian won the statewide race with 50.8 percent of the vote. Christian will face Yarbrough in November.

In the runoff for Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place 2, Ray Wheless beat Mary Lou Keel 4,155 (55.25 percent) to 3,365 (44.75 percent).

In the race for Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place 5, Scott Walker won 3,915 (53.9 percent) over Brent Webster 3,349 (46.1 percent).

The runoff for County Court at Law Judge No. 5 had Ron Cohen barely edge Harold Kennedy 3,985 (50.59 percent) to 3,892 (49.41 percent).

Additionally, voters in Precinct 1007 selected Jonathan Drake (62 votes, 54.4 percent) over Lynn Moses (52 votes, 45.61 percent) for precinct chair.

Fort Bend County results


State House 27
Ron Reynolds: 2,056 (52.9 percent)
Angelique Bartholomew: 1,830 (47.1 percent)

Railroad Commissioner
Grady Yarbrough: 3,273 (70.18 percent)
Cody Garrett: 1,391 (29.82 percent)

Republican Pct. 1 Constable
Mike Beard: 1,993 (56.8 percent)
Chris Bronsell: 1,517 (43.2 percent)

Pct. 3 Constable
Wayne Thompson: 1,293 (50.93 percent)
Rob W. Cook: 1,246 (49.07 percent)

Railroad Commissioner
Gary Gates (5,400 votes, 65.82 percent)
Wayne Christian (2,804 votes 34.18 percent)

Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place 2
Ray Wheless: 4,155 (55.25 percent)
Mary Lou Keel: 3,365 (44.75 percent)

Court of Criminal Appeals Judge, Place 5 
Scott Walker: 3,915 (53.9 percent)
Brent Webster 3,349 (46.1 percent)

County Court at Law Judge No. 5
Ron Cohen: 3,985 (50.59 percent)
Harold Kennedy: 3,892 (49.41 percent)

Precinct 1007 Chair
Jonathan Drake: 62  (54.4 percent)
Lynn Moses: 52 (45.61 percent)

Comments are closed

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2016 by | All rights reserved.