Runoff election set for Sugar Land’s District 4 seat

By Joe Southern

(Submitted photo)
Sugar Land Mayor Joe Zimmerman delivers the oaths of office to (pictured from the left) Steve R. Porter, Amy L. Mitchell and Bridget R. Yeung. A runoff election for the District 4 seat will take place June 10 between Carol K. McCutcheon and Sardar Qaisar Imam.

Just when you thought it was safe to get away from the polls, another election arises.

This time it’s a runoff election for the for District 4 seat on the Sugar Land City Council. The race is between Carol K. McCutcheon and Sardar Qaisar Imam and will be held Saturday, June 10.

During the May 6 election, McCutcheon was the top vote getter in the three-way race for the District 4 seat being vacated by Harish Jajoo. She had 702 votes (36.35 percent) to Imam’s 653 votes (33.82 percent) and Sean Burnett’s 567 votes (29.83 percent). Jajoo chose not to seek re-election and will continue to serve until the results of the runoff election are canvassed and his successor sworn in.

Early voting runs May 30 through June 6. A complete list of early voting locations, dates, times and election results are available at

District 4 voters may visit any of the following election-day voting centers to cast their run-off election ballots: Clements High School, 4200 Elkins Drive; Commonwealth Clubhouse, 4330 Knightsbridge Blvd.; Fort Bend County Library – University Branch, 14010 University Blvd.; and First Colony Conference Center, 3232 Austin Pkwy.

On May 16, the City Council canvassed the May 6 election returns. Unopposed incumbents Steve R. Porter, Bridget R. Yeung and Amy L. Mitchell took their oaths of office for Districts 1, 2 and 3, respectively.

Comments are closed

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2016 by | All rights reserved.