Stafford MSD board member named to MASBA post

(Submitted photo)
MASBA 2017 Executive/Board of Directors as of the MASBA 2017 Annual Conference: Xavier Herrera, Stafford MSD; Jessica Cantu, Raymondville ISD; Armando Rodriguez, Canutillo ISD (MASBA 2017 president); David Espinosa, Grand Prairie ISD (MASBA 2017 vice president); Homero Garcia, South Texas ISD (MASBA 2017 president-elect); Michael Vargas, San Benito ISD; Ricardo Gutierrez, ESC Region One ; Willie Tenorio, Hays CISD (MASBA 2017 secretary and 2018 conference chair); (front row) Irene Galan-Rodriguez, Big Spring ISD, (MASBA 2017 immediate past-president) and Ana Cortez, Manor ISD.

The Mexican American School Board Members Association (MASBA) conducted its election of officers and board members at its annual business meeting held Feb. 25 in San Antonio during the MASBA Annual Conference and Expo.

As part of the election process, Stafford Municipal School District School Board Trustee and Board Secretary Xavier Herrera was elected to the MASBA Region 3 position. Herrera replaces Dr. Viola M. Garcia, president, Aldine ISD and longtime MASBA board officer.

“I am thankful to Dr. Garcia for her service to Region 3 and hope to continue the great work conducted,” Herrera said. “Today’s election also serves historically as the first time a member of the Stafford Municipal School District Board of Trustees has served on the MASBA Board of Directors.

“Xavier Herrera brings a wealth of knowledge and experience both professionally and civically and we are pleased with the election results and look forward to working with him,” said Kurt Hixson, MASBA communications director.

Herrera has served in a number of capacities in the Stafford/Houston area such as the City of Stafford’s Planning and Zoning Commission Chairman, City of Stafford’s Comprehensive Plan Advisory Committee, National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials (NALEO), Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce’s Diversity Action Team Member and the Fort Bend Economic Development Council.

“Congratulations, Xavier Herrera for your commitment to MASBA. MASBA is grateful for your service and input, your experience and dedication is invaluable for the growth and advancement of MASBA as an organization and making positive changes for the students of our school districts throughout Texas,” said Armando Rodriguez, MASBA 2017 president.

Outgoing MASBA President Irene Galan-Rodriguez (Big Spring ISD) became immediate past-president, and president-elect Armando Rodriguez (Canutillo ISD) became president.

Board Officers elected were: President-elect Homero Garcia (South Texas ISD); Vice President David Espinosa (Grand Prairie ISD); Treasurer (re-elected) Servando Garza (Alice ISD); and Secretary Willie Tenorio (Hays CISD).

Board of directors elected or serving an elected term for their respective MASBA regions are as follows: Ricardo Gutierrez (ESC Region 1); Diane Davila (Houston ISD); Xavier Herrera (Stafford MSD) (ESC Region 3); Michael Vargas (San Benito ISD); Jessica Cantu (Raymondville ISD); and, Mike Rosales (Ysleta ISD). Incumbent MASBA Board of Directors are Anna Cortez (Manor ISD); Larry Perez (Waco ISD); and Orlando Flores (Fabens ISD).

Comments are closed

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright © 2016 by | All rights reserved.